HARGEISA(SomalilandPress)–The fourth general assembly meeting of the Somaliland Journalist Association (SOLJA) elected a new executive committee on the third its three-day GA gathering which was held from 29th to 31st July 2011 at Ambassador Hotel, Hargeysa.
SOLJA, the oldest and biggest journalist association in Somaliland whose members represent most, if not all of the country’s independent and state media professionals, discussed during the three-day session, a wide and diverse range of media related issues in Somaliland.
The three-day general meeting formed a new executive committee composed of 15 members who will head the organisation’s activities for the following three years.
The newly voted SOLJA chairman, Mr Hassan Mohamed Yusuf, thanked the delegates for electing him and the new executive committee to lead the organisation and pledged to continue to strengthen the association’s common welfares in the same manner as the out-going executive committee did so well in looking after the matters of the establishment.
The newly elected executive members are:
1. Chairman: Hassan M Yusuf
2. Vice-chair: Sulieman Ibrahim (Gurey)
3. Secretary –General: M/Rashid Mohamed Farah
4. Barkhad Mohamed Kaariye
5. Mohamed Abdi Urad
6. Mohamed Ahmed Jama (Caloolay)
7. Mohamed Said Abdullah (Xarago)
8. Ali Jama Mohamed
9. Keyse Ahmed Digaale,
10. Abdi-salaan Hariir Sh. Osman
11. Mustafa Sh. Omar Geeddi
12. Ali Aare
13. Nimco Samriye
14. Zahra Sh. Abdi Wahaab
15. Mohamed Shaqalle.