HARGEISA (Somalilandpress) — Opposition leader, Ahmed Mohamed Siilanyo has been declared the winner of Somaliland’s historical presidential elections with 49.6 percent of the vote.

During a press conference held in Mansoor Hotel in the capital, the National Electoral Commission (NEC) announced the final results declaring Kulmiye (Unity) party the winner. NEC chairman, Mr. Essa Yusuf Mohammed said Kulmiye party received 49.6% of the vote while the party of president Dahir Rayale Kahin (UDUB party), managed just 33.1 per cent. Second opposition party, UCID (Justice and Welfare party) finished third scoring 17.2 per cent of the vote.

Mr. Essa Mohamed urged the public and the political parties to support the new leadership. “I am once again confirming Kulmiye Party to be the winner of the election when all the votes were counted,” he said.

Somalilanders who were frustrated with the old regime wanted to see change, a change that might bring more respect and perhaps international recognition for the rest of the world.

The defeated president congratulated the opposition and the NEC and said he will step down “democratically”.

There are great excitement and jubilation in the streets of Hargeisa.

“I voted for change in this historical day, it’s 50 years later when our nation gained it’s independence from Great Britain, today we are voting again,” Hassan Yusuf said.

NEC announces the winner (Barkhad Kariye)

More than one million registered to vote in Somaliland and in the final count 538,000 valid votes were registered. The Surpreme Court will have to endorse the new president within the next fifteen days and out-going President Rayale has 30 days to handover the power.

Votes that each party has won (final count).
Kulimye: 266906 | 49.6%
UDUB: 178881 | 33.1%
UCID: 92439 | 17.2%

Source:SomalilandPress| Thursday July 01 2010
[ad#Google Adsense (336x280)]